The Meaning of ॐ (Om) by Swami Ram Swarupji

The Meaning of Om

Om is derived from three Hindi words, Aa, Uu, and Ma.

Aa is for Aakaar from which three names of God can be built, Viraat, Agni and Vishwadi.

From Uu we have Uukaar from which the names Hirnyagarbh, Vaayu and Tejas occur.

And finally from Ma, Makaar, which gives us the holy names of God Ishwar, Aditya and Praajyan. The Rigveda mantra 1/64/46 says that God is one but his names are several, and Om gives us a number of His names.

Viraat means He who creates the universe. Therefore God’s name is Viraat.

Agni means He who is knowledgeable, omniscient, to be known, and adorable. Therefore His name is Agni.

Vishwadi means one who is in space, fire etc., i.e., all these bhootas and is omnipresent, so His name is ‘Vishw’.

Hirnyagarbh means in whom the sun, moon or Dyulok reside and originate. That’s the reason His name is Hirnyagarbh.

Vaayu means by whom the universe is held. Who gives lives and destroys and is the supreme power; that is why His name is Vaayu.

Tej means one who is a form of light Himself. God does not take light from anywhere, but gives light to the sun, moon and stars etc. So the unbroken, unconstrained, un-produced and eternal form of light is the Almighty God; not the sun, the moon, stars, candle or any lamp of the world or any light of the world because these lights can be broken or exhausted, but not God.

Ishwar means who and whose knowledge is always a never dying truth and who has unlimited pleasures or merriment in Him.

Aditya means one who cannot be broken into pieces and thus cannot be destroyed and so His name is Aditya.

Praajyan means he who knows every manner and behaviour of the whole universe without misunderstandings. Therefore His name is Praajyen.

By Yogacharya Swami Ram Swarupji 

For more details visit